In poker, the best hand one can have is a royal flush. Elton D and Greencross like to play poker, but the game where they really clean the table is called techno.

Elton is one of the genre’s best producers in Brazil today. He holds a long string of releases in European labels such as Sway, Statik, Patterns and Virale. He has played in European events like Awakenings, Monegros, Mayday and Love Parade.

Venezuelan-born Greencross, who later lived for seven years in Barcelona, also has a bulky CV, with records on labels such as Slap Jaxx, Primate Recordings UK, Primevil and NB Records. His gigs include places such as BeCool, Florida 135, Row 14 in Barcelona, while he also was constantly booked in Germany, The Netherlands, France, and overseas in Venezuela and Brazil. Recently bringing label showcases as official parties of Amsterdam Dance Event.

Elton lives currently in Presidente Prudente, upstate São Paulo, while Greencross resides in Upper Austria. As distance means nothing in the digital age, they can play their game together.

The duo has a Royal Flush in their hands right now. It is a new label called Different Is Different, dedicated to techno which is futuristic, dark and funky. It is born digital, but vinyl versions of its EPs will appear in the future.

First release is the Reflection EP. It has two versions of the title-track. The original is more atmospheric, with a slow build-up and a breakdown with a vocal that will stick in the heads of dancers. The other version is a more energetic interpretation by Hertz, the Swedish techno wizard.

Hertz was one of the initial supporters of Elton’s music in Europe, being one of the first to release his tracks. Different Is Different arrives with the support of another heavyweight, master Dave Clarke.

The EP also has two versions for “I Know One”. One comes with liquified percussion and is haunted by an alien vocal; the other is more shuffly, with unstoppable rhythms. A fifth track, “Concret”, completes the release.

Different Is Different Records has much more up its sleeve. Next releases include material by Adam Jay, Ken Ishii, Boriqua Tribez, Ade Fenton, Rich Jones, Drumcomplex and, of course, Elton D and Greencross.